Might Be A Vegan

Why did I name my blog “Might Be A Vegan”, do you ask? Well…I might be a vegan. I might not.

Let me explain…


Recently–last week–I found some really interesting people on YouTube. I stumbled upon bonnyrebecca (link here) to begin with. From her page I found some other awesome vegan vloggers as well as some really informative documentaries (Forks Over Knives and Earthlings). Immediately I fell in love with the idea and the concept of veganism (not to mention how good this lifestyle is for we earthlings!). I decided to keep researching and to try this lifestyle out.

I’ve since been totally hooked to YouTube, watching these vegan vloggers and listening to their amazing stories of hope for our bodies and our species.

During the summers, home is with my grandparents, who totally disapprove of this lifestyle, using typical arguments against it: “Where are you going to get your protein from?” “Meat is good for you!” “Your bones are going to get weak from not drinking milk!”, but I’m totally convinced of the overwhelming health benefits of veganism (we can get into these in another post later).


Ever since I was little, I’ve been against eating cute, harmless animals. Over the years, however, I’ve been conditioned to simply forget about the animals that we’re slaughtering and just eat what is put in front of me. As long as I can push back the thought of the animals’ faces, I can bear to eat meat. But as soon as I start actually think about what I’m eating, I feel sick. That’s the main reason I want to become vegan. It doesn’t feel right.

Two weeks ago I visited my boyfriend’s father’s farm in the small town of Ragland, Alabama, and I met the cows there. The cows whose fate was to be sent to slaughter for meat. I couldn’t let myself think that these gentle creatures were destined for death, at my expense. I can’t bear that thought.

This is one of the adorable cows from the farm. I managed to take this right before she snarled at me. I took that as my cue to leave
This is one of the adorable cows from the farm. I managed to take this right before she snarled at me. I took that as my cue to leave

However, right now I’m living with my grandparents, because it’s summer, so I have to eat their food. I’ve been eating vegan for breakfast and lunch, but dinner is always filled with meat and dairy.

When I go back to school in August, I’m going to switch to veganism completely. And I’ll update you then about how it’s going for me. Being a vegan at college will be hard as well as pricey, but I firmly believe that paying the price for good, whole food on a vegan diet will be much easier to pay than the healthcare costs I will surely pay on a standard American diet later.

So, I named my blog “Might Be A Vegan” because right now I am a half-vegan, I guess. I think living this way is a good transition for me. I can figure out how much to eat, what to eat, and I can use this in-between time to figure out what I’m doing. But so far I love it.


Here are links to some of my other favorite vegan vloggers on YouTube:

FullyRawKristina – she’s awesome. She is the sweetest lady, and she eats 100% raw!

NinaAndRanda – twins who live with their 100% vegan family! They also love to do covers on this channel. Check them out!

FortWorthFamous – down-to-earth vegan girl who focuses on living a pure life. She’s also really into beauty. Love her videos!

and finally, of course, Freelee – she’s definitely the most well-known Raw Till 4 vegan in the community. She’s super intense, but sweet and caring at the same time.


Love your body, love yourself, eat clean, and feel good!

-MC ❤

(p.s. follow me on Insta: mcskolfield)

3 thoughts on “Might Be A Vegan

  1. Good luck with everything!

    I just had to comment that healthy vegan food does not have to be expensive at all, provided you have the facilities and time to batch cook now and then. That’s if you’re not stuck with a meal plan at college, of course.

    If you are able to buy a couple of different bulk lots of dried beans then soak, cook and freeze them in serving sizes it saves a lot of money and they make a great base for all sorts of recipes – chickpeas and pinto or kidney beans are good choices.

    Even if you don’t have room or time to grow veggies, you can sprout things like lentils, and use these as a base to bulk out more expensive produce.

    Like

    1. WOW! Thank you for your comment! That advice will help me a lot. Luckily I’m going to be a senior this year and, unlike freshmen, will not be required to have a meal plan. Plus I’m living in an apartment, so food preparation will be no big deal at all 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand where you are coming from and I have been there 🙂 when I was in this situation I asked people to ” let me make dinner” haha! no one ever says no to that! and I made them mouth watering vegan food and they could not even tell the meat was missing… for me what really worked was that I educated myself about vitamins, protein and ready to answer.. no in a defensive way… but with the understanding that some people have their own beliefs 🙂
    wish you lots of luck and I am glad you are a “half vegan” haha!
    love
    following you 😉
    http://www.veganneeds.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

