Going To Market

Who doesn’t love a nice, fresh, local market? All over the U.S. it’s market season, but market-time in the South-Eastern U.S. is a huge deal. Historically “The South” has been known for farming and growing. From tobacco to peaches to cattle, the south produces a lot of food for the country. I have to say, I don’t always like living in the south, but man do I love the fresh fruits and veggies that come with the transition from spring to summer.

This is Autumn. Isn't she gorgeous?
This is Autumn. Isn’t she gorgeous?

This past weekend, I had an opportunity to recruit for my sorority in Alabama, then I traveled to Pike County, Georgia to visit my good friend Autumn. Autumn is a really cool person. She loves all things fresh, and she was using essential oils before they were cool. She drinks tea in the mornings, afternoons, and at night, and she buys all of her winter attire at thrift stores.

We woke up early Saturday morning with a specific, special, and out-of-the-way plan in mind for the day: Your Dekalb Farmers Market in Decatur, Georgia (right outside downtown Atlanta). I envisioned this market to be similar to my local market, The Sunday Chattanooga Market, but I was oh-so wrong.

Me & my mangoes
Me & my mangoes (flannel b/c it was FREEZING inside)

Your Dekalb Farmers Market is so unlike any place I’ve ever been to. First off, it’s an international market. Fruits and veggies I’ve never even heard of made their way into this market at crazy low prices.  The first thing you notice going inside the market, however, are the giant “NO PHOTOGRAPHY INSIDE THE MARKET” signs, warning customers to keep their cameras and phones hidden while they shop for these foods at unbelievably low prices (I managed to sneak just a few pics in while no one was looking, just for you). I didn’t take any pictures of the prices out of curtousy, but boy were they LOW. My biggest find was 12 beautiful organic mangoes for $4.50. That’s a steal.

Also, it’s huge. The market was basically in a giant warehouse, and the entire thing was filled with people, fruits, veggies, fresh-baked breads and pastries, spices, meats, and anything and everything else your stomach can imagine.

Here's just a fraction of the fresh pastries they had available
Here’s just a fraction of the fresh pastries they had available
Mango slices!
Mango slices!

I snagged 12 mangoes, a pint of chia seeds, a quart of flax seeds, a quart of pitted dates, and a big bag of dried mango strips for $15.40, and I plan on making the trip from Chattanooga down to Atlanta again soon for this unique and wonderful shopping experience. I definitely recommend this market for anyone and everyone anywhere near Georgia!

Leave a Reply

